Kinky Assignments, Community, and Gender Euphoria

Hello beautiful beings,

I’m delighted to be back with my newsletter. My trip to Ohio to officiate was a success, and it was my honor to support my friends on this next step on their journey. I’m including an image here of their wedding cake, hand crafted by the father of the groom. The wedding was gaming-themed (though not distractingly so), and each of those dice was poured in white chocolate over a base of home-made cheesecake. I was able to don my 14th century monks robes and hold space for their vows that were truly their own. 

Back to Denver, it has been imperfect. My body has been acting up and I am seeing a new chiropractor and examining the best ways to care for me. I’ve been ambitious in booking my summer schedule now that the world is slowly opening up here in the United States. Between plans to see friends and teach at events both long distance and nearby, I am actively planning in advance how to take care of my body and mind alike, as I live with complex realities for both. Due to this I may have to cut down on some of my Wednesday series starting in July. I have such gratitude for folks who came out on this past Wednesday for the Altar Building discussion, when I was unable to make it for unexpected health reasons – that class has been moved to June 9th

I would like to apologize as well to folks who saw the dates for my class “From Gender Dysphoria to Gender Euphoria” via this newsletter. I have been listing it for today, May 28th, when it is in fact tomorrow, the 29th. The great news about that for you who are in the United States is that it means it is now 11a Pacific/2p Eastern on Saturday rather than mid-day on Friday. You can see the details below.

I’m excited to share with you all though a wonderful series of videos that Sam Jones from Kinky Assignments shot with me recently. If you don’t know about Kinky Assignments, they are a great YouTube channel dedicated to skillsets for new submissives and their partners to explore their desires, techniques, and passions. Check them out. 

Check out her work. Based out of the Netherlands, Sam has had over a million views and, especially for heterosexual, male-dominant, female-submissive couples, she has great information. For individuals who come from other backgrounds, be aware that her language tends towards that framework and language.

This coming week, come join me at: 

  • From Gender Dysphoria to Gender Euphoria 
    at Karada House
    May 29th, 2021 (11a-1p Pacific, Noon-2p Mountain, 1-3p Central, 2-4p Eastern, 6-8p GMT)
    Buy tickets: https://karada-house.de/events/gender-euphoria/ 
    When discussing transgender experience, there is often a focus on gender dysphoria, the distress someone experiences due to a mismatch between their gender identity and their sex assigned at birth. But what about gender euphoria and the powerful joys that can come during the varieties of transgender and gender expansive experiences? In this discussion/class we will look at the diverse types of dysphoria before diving into the power and beauty possible when we are seen in our gender or can find the power possible in the journeys we are on. Though this discussion will center the voices of transgender, gender non-conforming, non-binary, and gender expansive individuals, people of all gender experiences are welcome, as well as partners and allies of those on diverse gender journeys.
  • Beyond Bowed Heads: Rituals for Dominance, Submission, and Life at Large
    At Kink, Intimacy, and Cannabis
    May 29th, 2021 (Noon-2p Pacific, 1-3p Mountain, 2-4p Central, 3-5p Eastern, 7-9p GMT)
    Buy tickets: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/beyond-bowed-heads-rituals-for-dominance-submission-the-world-at-large-tickets-153130295837 
    Rituals are a key part of any D/s relationship, whether acknowledged or otherwise. From casual kisses at the door to formal slave poses, ritual objects such as collars to slave contracts, the BDSM world is rife with concepts of ritual – but what is a ritual? What are the levels of ritualistic interaction we have between one another? Let’s look at our rituals in day to day life (including how to get out of work or parent space), sacred time, intense connection, erotic play, solidifying relationships, changes within relationships, and the taboo subject of the devastating loss of a relationship or its natural end. From terminology to developing codes of ethical interaction, this class covers a bevy of styles and types of interpersonal reactions that can help everyone in a relationship examine what they are already doing, and what they want to build together.
  • Playing Well With Others: Discovering, Exploring, and Navigating the Kink Community 
    at Wicked Grounds
    May 29th, 2021 (11a-1p Pacific, Noon-2p Mountain, 1-3p Central, 2-4p Eastern, 6-8p GMT)
    Share on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/1105493049826493/ 
    Share on Fetlife: https://fetlife.com/events/990866 
    Buy tickets: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/online-playing-well-with-others-a-kink-community-primer-tickets-152447006099?aff=ebdsoporgprofile 
    Ever wanted to get involved in the kink community but don’t know where to start? Shy and overwhelmed? Curious about the types of events and get togethers out there in the land of pervyness? Every event is different, and you deserve to find one that fits you. We’ll look into why folks want to be part of the community (and how that affects your adventure), some of the myths you’ll encounter along the way (from outsiders and kinksters alike), the pitfalls we may encounter, and have fun along the way. So pull out your social graces, dust off those leather boots (or heels, or sandals), and let’s dive into this foray into kink events and culture.
  • Exploring Edge Play: Whose Edge Is It? 
    June 2nd, 2021 (1-2:30p Pacific, 2-3:30p Mountain, 3-4:30p Central, 4-5:30p Eastern, 8-9:30p GMT)
    Share on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/157180366293891 
    Share on Fetlife: https://fetlife.com/events/997133 
    Join Zoom Meeting: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/2439294154?pwd=ZGFhRWVaTjVhK1ZpZmthU0JrWmZFZz09  
    Meeting ID: 243 929 4154
    Passcode: 136777love 
    The term “edge play” get used differently by a variety of kinky people. It refers to playing with blades and knives by some, or edging, the act of keeping someone near the point of orgasm for extended periods of time, by others. However, the bulk of the time edge play talks about types of play that are physically or psychologically dangerous or “edgy” – so who gets to decide what “edgy” is? Is it things that have high risk of physical harm if done wrong? Activities that emotionally activate or “trigger” an individual, or the population at large? Who in a scene or encounter gets to decide what those things might be? In this discussion we will break down some of these concepts and look at what different people consider edge play – and why! Come with your life experience, your curiosity, and your willingness to listen to others for this collection of rich and varied opinions. 

I also have other classes and events coming up! Come join me for one of these upcoming events in the second half of June (and visit my Upcoming Appearances page for things later in the year). 

To check out other classes and intensives beyond April (conferences and classes alike), visit my Upcoming Appearances page to learn more. From there you can sign up for my free newsletter as well. To enjoy further free material from me, consider joining me on Patreon 🙂

Much love to you all and see you soon!

Yours in Passion and Soul,

Lee Harrington

http://www.PassionAndSoul.com

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Lee Harrington

Lee Harrington is an internationally known sexuality, relationships, and personal authenticity educator. Having taught in all 50 states and in 6 countries, he brings a combination of playful engagement and thoughtful academic dialogue to a broad audience. An award-winning author and editor on gender, sexual, and sacred experience, his books include “Traversing Gender: Understanding Transgender Journeys,” and "Sacred Kink: The Eightfold Paths of BDSM and Beyond," among many other titles. He has been blogging online since 1998, and been teaching worldwide since 2001. Welcome to his world, and your chance to expand your mind and heart alike.

Comments are closed.